*





Manu Tuilagi smashes Tom Williams


Top14 player imposter!


JDV smashed by Benoit August


The Northampton Saints 30m scrum!


Bastareaud huge hit on Rory Lamont


All Blacks skills - Pt 2 In the backyard


Trinh-Duc sets up Harinordoquy try


Wales vs England 1999


Greg Holmes great hit on Francois Louw



Sunday, June 22, 2008

Kankowski knocked out by Del Fava

A tackle or a shoulder charge? The referee thought the latter, and proceeded to yellow card Italian second-row Carlo del Fava following his knock out hit on Springbok & Sharks star Ryan Kankowski.

The electrifying number eight was playing in just his third Test for South Africa when he suffered a head on head collision with the oncoming Italian defence. Kankowski was out cold for a few minutes before he was able to be manoeuvred onto a stretcher and taken from the ground.

Del Fava looked to be unlucky to have received the sin-binning, with the clash of heads possibly causing more damage than the shoulder itself, and he showed remorse and genuine concern when standing to clap off the Bok flyer.

Kankowski recovered well though, and was actually sit up in the change room minutes after being carried off the ground. Despite this, medical protocol requires that he be properly assessed before he can be cleared to play again.

Up until a few years ago there was a mandatory two week suspension for concussion, but more recently cognitive tests have been introduced to determine the extent and nature of concussion. So Kankowski could theoretically be cleared to play in the Tri-Nations opener against New Zealand in Wellington on 5 July, and go on to play a vital role in the Springbok's 2008 Tri-Nations campaign.



Share

33 Comments:

  • Go Italy!! That was legal....yellow card a tad extreme?
    Del fava is a beast anyway :D
    Hope to see the Azzuri get some point against the pumas next week.

    By Anonymous samitarugby, at June 22, 2008 10:08 pm  

  • very suspicious,but I would say that was some sort of a shoulder charge...

    By Anonymous rugbyfreak, at June 22, 2008 10:18 pm  

  • No chance was that a yellow. The second Italian player tackling meant that Kankowski was kinda "braced" and there was no give when he got tackled. Poor, poor decision to yellow card. I think the fact that there was no reaction (fistycuffs, etc) from the SA players is telling. They didn't see any problem with it and it was an over-reaction by the ref to card.

    By Anonymous Tanora, at June 22, 2008 11:51 pm  

  • thats a whole heap of italian right there! Kankowski isnt the smallest of guys to say the least either.

    By Anonymous Ronnie, at June 22, 2008 11:51 pm  

  • the yellow card maybe a little to much. del fava didn't intend to hurt him.

    By Blogger Remy, at June 23, 2008 1:09 am  

  • I think it was similar to the hit on Tait yesterday. Head just connecting with Kankowski. Yellow card is a bit extreme, it wasn't high, just an awkward hit.

    By Anonymous Richard, at June 23, 2008 1:29 am  

  • there is no way that was a yellow card. had both arms in the tackle and brought him to ground. I'd say the only reason Del Fava isn't out cold is because of the head gear hes wearing. Just bad luck for a promising loosie.

    By Blogger Eoghan, at June 23, 2008 1:41 am  

  • though it's the headclash that did the damage, i reckon Del fava went in for a shoulder charge (his right arm is down when the contact is made)

    By Anonymous Jeroz, at June 23, 2008 1:50 am  

  • Never a yellow card, just a clash of heads

    By Anonymous martin, at June 23, 2008 2:09 am  

  • not a yellow card but was a dagerous tackle...tacklers should no to keep there heads in right position...and without his srucmcap it could have been alot worse for both players. but still no yellow card maybe jus penalty.

    By Anonymous themull, at June 23, 2008 2:16 am  

  • THAT WAS NO SHOULDER CHARGE!!!!!!!!! it was just another head clash like the one in the england and new zealand game

    By Anonymous nick, at June 23, 2008 9:06 am  

  • absolutely no shoulder charge!!
    the carding was a little extreme. A penalty would've been enough. Just bad luck. Tanora is right, look at the SA players' reactions. None. Fine tackle, not even high.

    By Anonymous italianscrummy, at June 23, 2008 9:39 am  

  • it was an unfortunate ad clash,no reason for sin bin

    By Anonymous minstrel boy, at June 23, 2008 9:59 am  

  • head clash that is

    By Anonymous minstrel boy, at June 23, 2008 9:59 am  

  • Yellow car is too much i think.
    It wasn't a high tackle but just a shoulder charge, the italian player hit his head with the South African like All Blacks England in the second test.
    The south referees like to send of the European players...poor...

    By Anonymous Travis 73, at June 23, 2008 12:36 pm  

  • Yeah I agree with everyone, Kankowski just decided to run at the wrong guy and at the wrong time and ended up getting his body position all wrong whilst getting smashed by someone bigger and stronger than him (which is a rarity tbh). Del Fava was defo hard done by but didn't seem to complain much, maybe he's just a good guy?

    By Anonymous Ben, at June 23, 2008 12:44 pm  

  • Maybe not, He was once banned for ten weeks for rucking someone on the head whilst playing for parma. Maybe he is just used to being sent off lol.

    By Anonymous Ben, at June 23, 2008 12:47 pm  

  • LOL @ Ben. Possibly. He is South African originally after all ;)

    By Anonymous Sharky, at June 23, 2008 1:00 pm  

  • Wow Del Fava is one strong guy, and it's not like Ka. Lesson learnt! Kankowski is a weed himself. Just chse to run into the wrong guy

    Didn't thibk it was a foul.

    Yellow card? No way.

    Really like the Italians.

    By Anonymous Rugby Bets, at June 23, 2008 2:18 pm  

  • Kankowski a weed? you off your rocker Rugby bets? Did U not see how he bounced Richie McCaw and two of his other forwards when he scored against the crusaders; I say he ran into a big player at a bad angle. And even though I think The Yellow card might not necessarily have been justified there was no intent to use arms in that tackle.

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at June 23, 2008 2:58 pm  

  • Well it looked like a shoulder charge to me - that back arm came in as an after thought...and if Butch James had tackled like that he would have been sent off to. It is the responsiblity of the tackler to make sure that the tackled player lands safely...what did fava do ...but toss him over again after he was knocked out cold!

    By Anonymous Just a Fan, at June 23, 2008 3:03 pm  

  • The ref was in the best possible place he could have been to see it, so I would trust his decision on this occasion.
    For those saying that the South Africans didnt react, the ref blew straight; they hardly had an opportunity to lose their tempers at the collision.
    The tackle was probably a bit sloppy, definitely no intent to cause harm.

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at June 23, 2008 3:30 pm  

  • Er, there's nothing wrong with that. Ref got it wrong. I thought the tackle on Tait was very borderline but gave the defender the benefit of the doubt, this however is perfectly legal and just a clash of heads which will happen every so often if you're playing rugby.

    By Anonymous Andy, at June 23, 2008 3:50 pm  

  • How was that a shoulder charge, he pretty much lowered the bok to the ground. Just an unlucky clash of heads like the Tait incident below.

    By Anonymous Hamish m, at June 23, 2008 6:10 pm  

  • Fag ref - bloody legal and solid hit on kankowski

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at June 23, 2008 6:20 pm  

  • Great tackle by the second row.

    By Anonymous gallop, at June 23, 2008 8:05 pm  

  • no way was that a yellow but im hardly surprised about the biased officiating to the home team after the number of dodgy decisions in the 2nd test against wales

    By Anonymous geoff, at June 23, 2008 11:55 pm  

  • Nothing wrong with that legally. Defo no shoulder charge watch his right arm.

    Should the rules accomodat tacklers heads into it though? Seen a fair few tacklers go in head first recently claiming it was just a 'clash'

    By Anonymous Simon, at June 24, 2008 4:56 pm  

  • im pretty disappointed with some of the comments saying that the refs are biased. on this occasion the ref was from ireland, not anywhere in the SH. im south african and agree it shouldnt have been a yellow but thats the way it goes sometimesand it goes both ways. i think that some welsh supporters should just get over it, you lost now move on - you ve got a great team which is more than shane williams.

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at June 25, 2008 11:29 am  

  • Obviously not a shoulder charge, simply a referee making a bad decision by reacting to the crowd.

    An AB would never be penalised for that...

    By Anonymous Mark, at June 26, 2008 11:16 am  

  • No way was that shoulder charge it was more the headclash that knocked him out similar to Kahui accidently clashing with Tait.

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at June 27, 2008 10:33 am  

  • pure head clash and a great tackle, should not have even been a penalty.

    By Anonymous Anonymous, at June 29, 2008 12:11 am  

  • huge shoulder from Del Fava,but I think that the head did the rest:)

    By Anonymous rugbyfreak, at July 29, 2008 10:17 am  

Please note: All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.

Post a Comment

<< Home




Missed out on recent posts? View by monthly archive
July 2011 | June 2011 | May 2011 | April 2011 | March 2011 | February 2011

 

PARTNERS & FRIENDS
Ultimate Rugby Sevens | Frontup.co.uk | Whatsisrugby.com | RossSkeate.com | Fusebox | Olympic-rugby.org
The Rugby Blog | Blogspot rugby | Free Sports Video Guide | Lovell Rugby Blog | Lerugbynistere | Free Betting Offers

All videos featured are hosted externally and property of the respective video sharing platforms.
Rugbydump features and archives them in an effort to promote the game worldwide.
Copyright © 2010 Rugbydump